Blog

Construction draw software: Rabbet vs Built vs Northspyre

Who each draw tool is built for, what it costs where the price is public, what it leaves out, and the math on Rabbet's per-project pricing.

We make dailybuilt, which is not one of these three tools and is not a draw platform. We read each company's own pages on November 4, 2026. Read this with that in mind.

Search for construction draw software and half of page one is about drawings, the plan sheets an architect issues. The other half is written by the vendors themselves. Built's comparison of draw tools leaves out Rabbet. Adaptive's leaves out Northspyre. Nobody puts the three most named tools side by side, and nobody gives a price.

The short answer. Built started on the lender side and is the strongest fit for a bank or private lender administering construction loans. Northspyre and Rabbet are built for owners and developers who run the budget and assemble the draw. Rabbet is the only one of the three that publishes its prices.

What draw software does that project management tools don't

A draw is a request for the next slice of a construction loan or equity commitment, paid against work already done. Draw software tracks the budget line by line, collects the contractor's pay application and invoices, attaches lien waivers and the inspection report, routes the package to whoever approves it, and records what was funded.

Project management tools track the job. Schedules, RFIs, drawings, punch lists. Draw software tracks the money and the paper that has to exist before money moves. Some tools do both, but the buyer is different. A project manager wants the schedule. A lender wants to know that every dollar out matches work in place and a signed waiver.

Built is for lenders first

  • Who it's for. Lenders, plus owners and developers, plus builders. Built says more than 290 lenders use it.
  • Lenders get. Draw and budget management, draw inspections, an AI Draw Agent, underwriting, risk alerts and portfolio reporting.
  • Owners and builders get. Budget management, invoice management, lien waiver management (create, send and track) and payments.
  • Price. Not published. The site points you to a demo request.
  • Security. The features page shows SOC 2 Type II and SOC 1 Type II badges.
  • Integrations named. Sage, Yardi and Procore.

Built's site claims its AI Draw Agent gives "up to 95% faster draw processing" and "2× more risks flagged". The page gives no method or sample, so treat those as marketing until a reference customer confirms them.

Pick Built if you are the lender, or a developer whose lender already runs on it.

Northspyre is for developers who want forecasting and capital tracking

  • Who it's for. Owners and developers, with a funding portal that gives lenders and investors a view of current and past draw packages.
  • Draws. Draw packages with linked documents, a Draw Co-Pilot that flags issues before a package goes out, and approval workflows that record who approved each invoice and when.
  • Price. Not published. The pricing page lists Pro and Enterprise editions and says most products are annual contracts. Projects are unlimited up to a spend cap the page does not state.
  • Paid add-ons. Complex Capital Management (source transactions, LIHTC compliance, configurable draw templates), Portfolio Analytics Plus and two-way accounting integrations.
  • Security. Its compliance page says "Northspyre systems are SOC 2 Type II certified."
  • Integrations named. Yardi, Sage Intacct, Sage 300, QuickBooks and Nexus.

The catch is the add-ons. If your deals carry tax credits or several capital sources, the features you need are sold separately.

Pick Northspyre if you run several developments and want budgets, forecasts and investor reporting in one place, and you are fine getting a price from sales.

Rabbet is the one with a price list

  • Who it's for. Two products. Rabbet for developers, and Rabbet for construction lenders.
  • Developer price. Lite $375, Standard $595 and Premium $840, each per active project per month, on an annual contract with a $15,000 annual minimum. Pre-development projects are free and unlimited.
  • What counts. A project uses a credit only in months with hard costs or pay applications. Credits pool across projects, and up to 20% of unused credits roll into a renewal at the same size or larger.
  • Lender price. Lite $120, Standard $170 and Premium $215 per draw. Some items need contract minimums the page does not state.
  • Included. Document management, budget tracking and draw preparation on every developer plan. Contract management and reports from Standard. Cash flow projections and third-party invites on Premium.
  • Missing, by Rabbet's own account. Deal pipeline and pro forma modeling, bid management and a vendor marketplace.
  • Integrations named. Yardi Voyager, AvidXchange, Nexus, BILL and QuickBooks Online.

Rabbet's comparison page also offers teams leaving Northspyre a 40% saving on the same scope, or $4,000 if it can't match. That is a vendor's offer about a competitor, so read the terms.

Pick Rabbet if you want to know the cost before the first call, or you have a few active projects at a time.

What Rabbet actually costs, worked out

The $15,000 minimum matters more than the plan price for a small developer.

Take a developer with two projects in hard costs for all 12 months. That is 24 project-months.

Plan 24 project-months You pay
Lite at $375 $9,000 $15,000 (the minimum)
Standard at $595 $14,280 $15,000 (the minimum)
Premium at $840 $20,160 $20,160

On Lite, you need 40 project-months before you pay more than the minimum. That is more than three projects running all year. Up to 25 project-months, Standard costs the same as Lite, so take Standard.

A lender on Rabbet's Standard plan with 8 loans and 12 draws each would buy 96 draws, which is $16,320 for the year. On Lite it is $11,520.

Built and Northspyre can't be worked out the same way, because neither publishes a number.

Which one to pick

If you are Look first at
A lender administering construction loans Built, or Rabbet's lender plans
A developer with one to four active projects who wants a price up front Rabbet
A developer with many projects, tax credits or several capital sources Northspyre
A builder whose lender or owner already uses one of these Whichever they use
A builder or small developer doing one job at a time A spreadsheet and a solid checklist may still be enough

Before any demo, write down who approves each draw, how many draws a year you run, and whether your lender will accept a package from your tool or insists on its own portal. That last one decides more than any feature list.

If you are still assembling packages by hand, our construction draw request checklist lists the documents lenders expect and the reasons they send packages back.

Where software fits

dailybuilt is not a draw platform. It has no draw, lien waiver or loan module, no SOC 2 report yet, and it does not read or check the documents in a package. For a lender or a developer with several active projects, one of the three tools above is the better fit.

A small builder who mostly needs the paper in one place can set dailybuilt up for it on the Foundation plan, at $99 a month for up to 10 staff. Custom collections can hold the budget lines and draws. Documents and e-sign can collect signed waivers from each subcontractor, with an audit trail. Automations can email a sub a reminder before a waiver is due. It is a general system set up for the job, not a draw tool, and the pricing page lists what each plan includes. For the jobs teams still do by hand around it, see five jobs your team still does by hand.

Questions people ask

What is the difference between construction draw software for lenders and contractors?Lender software checks a draw before money moves. It compares the request to the budget and the inspection, and records the decision. Contractor and developer software builds the draw. It tracks costs, collects pay applications and waivers, and sends the package. Built and Rabbet sell separate products for each side.

What is the difference between construction draw software and project management tools?Project management tools track the work, such as schedules, drawings and RFIs. Draw software tracks the money and the documents that must exist before a payment, such as pay applications, lien waivers and inspection reports.

What documents are required for a construction draw request?Usually the pay application with its schedule of values, invoices, conditional waivers for this draw and unconditional waivers for the last one, an inspection report and a title update. Your loan agreement sets the exact list. Our draw request checklist goes through each one.

Is there free construction draw software?None of these three has a free plan. Rabbet makes pre-development projects free, but a project in hard costs uses paid credits. For a single job, a spreadsheet tracker is the free option.

How much does construction draw software cost?Of the three, only Rabbet publishes prices: $375 to $840 per active project per month for developers with a $15,000 annual minimum, or $120 to $215 per draw for lenders. Built and Northspyre quote after a sales call.

Sources

Keep reading

All posts

Book an intro call to scope what we build first.

Bring the software you run and the three jobs that take the most hours. Or create a workspace and run the platform yourself.

Every workspace starts with a 30-day free trial. You can export all of your data at any time.